Sunny Meadows Nursery
Contact Us
Meals, Fees and Tax Credit
Special Educational Needs
Early Years Foundation Stage
Parental Partnerships
Staffing and Security
Nursery Rooms
Admission and Sessions

Early Years Foundation Stage

The nursery incorporates the Early Years Foundation stage (EYFS) framework 2012 to support children’s play and learning. The EYFS covers birth – five years and are divided up through the following:

A unique child   - Every child is a competent learner from birth
Positive relationships – Children can learn to be strong and independent
Enabling Environments – The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children and learning and development.
Learning and Development -  Children develop in different ways and at different times and all areas of learning and development are important.

The curriculum is all the planned and unplanned activities that are organised within the nursery and are based heavily on a child’s personal, social and emotional development which underpins all the curriculum areas plus their holistic development and attitude towards coming to the nursery.

Planning within the EYFS covers the 7 areas of development, with most activities lending themselves to cross curricula learning, such as a scientific activity which would involve
counting or sorting.

The seven areas are:

Prime areas

Personal, social and emotional development
Communication and Language
Physical development

Specific areas

Expressive arts and design
Understanding the world

Characteristics of learning

The characteristics of effective learning and the prime and specific areas of learning and development are all interconnected. The ways in which the child engages with other people and their environment – playing and exploring, active learning and creating and thinking critically – underpin learning and development across all areas and support the child to remain an effective and motivated learner.


Find out more